Pages

 Loading... Please wait...
  • 844-JFD-HUNT

Just For Does Spotlight ~ Aimee Pitts

Posted by Aimee Pitts on

Hi I’m Aimee Pitts, born and raised in the Bayou State of Louisiana. Currently, I reside in Keatchie, Louisiana, a rural area just outside of Shreveport with my other half, Chris and my two children, Morgan and Mason. I love animals and have two dogs my bloodhound Bonnie Claire and a small mixed breed named Paisley; three cats, one who is 19 years old named Abby and two without names; and nine chickens. I would have a lot more animals but Chris won’t allow me to take in every stray I find. I consider myself an outdoorsy person because I would much rather be outside than be cooped up inside a house. Some of my favorite things to do are hunt and fish. To be more specific, I like to hunt deer and fish for bass. If I were told that I had to choose one or the other, I would most likely choose bass fishing just because I seem to have better luck with it. Ha Ha! Truthfully, I hope that I never have to choose between the two; otherwise it would be a very sad day.

I am not one of those people who were raised in a family that taught their young to hunt and fish. Believe it or not, I was introduced to it by my ex-husband, many, many moons ago. My children on the other hand, have been brought up in a home where they started hunting and fishing at a young age. I have raised them both to appreciate and respect nature as much as I do. I don’t have a lot of trophy deer on the wall, in fact, I only have one. It’s an 8 point that I harvested in 2009, my biggest to date. I caught my largest bass to date in March of 2014; she was 8 pounds 9 ounces and hangs proudly on my wall. My love for the outdoors goes well beyond traditional hunting and fishing though. I’m always in awe with nature and the beauty of it. I love to watch the woods and water come alive in the mornings and watch them go to bed in the evening. Because of my love for the outdoors I was very fortunate to become a part of Just for Does on April 28, 2014. I was very excited to become a part of the Just for Does family not only because of the awesome products they have but because I was able to join a group of ladies who share the same passion for the outdoors as I do.

When not hunting or fishing, I work two jobs. During the weekdays I work for a local glass company. On the weekends and evenings, I spend my time doing taxidermy work. I’ve been in the taxidermy business since 2014, before that I made custom cakes. Now, I am sure you must ask yourself, “How does one go from custom cakes to working with harvested animals?” Well, that is quite simple, both of them require a little bit of artistic ability so the change from cakes to taxidermy really isn’t that crazy when you kind of have an artistic side…not to mention, one has less calories. I also get asked how I am able to handle working with harvested animals. Truthfully, it doesn’t bother me. I actually enjoy it especially when I get down to the finished product and I feel like I have truly accomplished something when giving a customer a trophy that will last a lifetime.

Lastly, a fun fact about myself, In 2011 I was chosen, alongside Chris, our children and some of our extended families to take part in a reality show named My Big Redneck Vacation which aired on CMT until 2014. During our adventures on the show we were given the opportunity to go places such as the Hamptons in New York, Skipton, England and then road trip all over the United States. A lot of the places we traveled were places that I and my children might not have ever had the opportunity to experience if it were not for the show. In 2014 when the vacation show ended I was also able to take part in a spin off reality show, My Big Redneck Family. It focused more on our home life and the crazy shenanigans we could get ourselves into.

Thanks for reading my bio, now get off that phone, step away from the computer, go outside and breathe some fresh air, take in the beauty that surrounds you and never take it for granted!